WebPagetest Forums
500 Error with IE test! Help! - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Discuss Test Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: 500 Error with IE test! Help! (/showthread.php?tid=10682)



500 Error with IE test! Help! - prizegrand - 03-02-2012 07:16 AM

Hi everyone,

I have an error when testing my website, https://www.prizegrand.com with IE. I dont have any issues when testing from other browsers, it is just IE that returns a 500 error. You're all welcome to do a performance test for yourselves, but this is what i get:

IE (the one with 500 error):
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_V7_3E4CB/

Firefox browser (no problems here!)
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_ZE_3E4CV/

Again, It is just IE that renders a 500 error. Can anyone tell me why this is happening? Chrome and Firefox work perfectly fine... so i dont know what the problem is Sad

Can someone check what is happening pleeeeeaaassseee? Big Grin

Thanks,
Prizegrand


RE: 500 Error with IE test! Help! - LeptienM - 03-05-2012 01:14 AM

(03-02-2012 07:16 AM)prizegrand Wrote:  Hi everyone,

I have an error when testing my website, https://www.prizegrand.com with IE. I dont have any issues when testing from other browsers, it is just IE that returns a 500 error. You're all welcome to do a performance test for yourselves, but this is what i get:

IE (the one with 500 error):
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_V7_3E4CB/

Firefox browser (no problems here!)
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_ZE_3E4CV/

Again, It is just IE that renders a 500 error. Can anyone tell me why this is happening? Chrome and Firefox work perfectly fine... so i dont know what the problem is Sad

Can someone check what is happening pleeeeeaaassseee? Big Grin

Thanks,
Prizegrand

Seems like your Server ALWAYS throws a HTTP 500 Error when the basepage is requested! But apparently Browsers react differently. Your HTTP 500 Response has a full body containing the HTML of your website, so a Browser MIGHT render it. Don't know if this is mandatory by the Spec.
So, it would be a good idea to find out, why your Webserver ALWAYS sends a HTTP 500 for the Basepage (instead of a HTTP 200), even though only IE8 seems to have a problem with that.

Best wishes,
Markus


RE: 500 Error with IE test! Help! - prizegrand - 03-05-2012 01:43 AM

I'm using CloudFlare, and i think it is their fault since the data shows this in response:
HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
Server: cloudflare-nginx
Date: Thu, 01 Mar 2012 21:12:24 GMT
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Connection: keep-alive
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.17
Set-Cookie: PHPSESSID=88908bea2e1935fb6567cb63fb424454; path=/
Expires: Thu, 19 Nov 1981 08:52:00 GMT
Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0
Pragma: no-cache
Set-Cookie: __cfduid=d5996f37fe6baf1f49d47954201b56b051330636344; expires=Mon, 23-Dec-2019 23:50:00 GMT; path=/; domain=.prizegrand.com
Set-Cookie: __cfduid=d5996f37fe6baf1f49d47954201b56b051330636344; expires=Mon, 23-Dec-2019 23:50:00 GMT; path=/; domain=.www.prizegrand.com


RE: 500 Error with IE test! Help! - pmeenan - 03-06-2012 04:39 AM

FWIW, the IE behavior is probably WebPagetest-specific. I end the test as soon as a page-level error is detected (so testing fancy 404 pages doesn't work either). Absolutely something you need to fix though, I can't imagine the search bots like 500's very much.

You should ping cloudflare because it's not a problem I'm used to seeing with them. 5xx errors are usually returned because they had some kind of problem communicating back to the origin server.


RE: 500 Error with IE test! Help! - damoncloudflare - 03-07-2012 09:01 AM

This is kind of odd because a 500 internal server error is directly an issue with your server. Does temporarily deactivating CloudFlare (settings->deactivate) in your account resolve the issue? If not, it is most certainly an issue on your server & might be some sort of .htacess permission, plugin problem, etc.

Please contact us if it is only present with CloudFlare enabled. Link: http://support.cloudflare.com/cgi/discussion/new


RE: 500 Error with IE test! Help! - prizegrand - 03-11-2012 10:46 AM

no problem, i now know its server based... but i dont know what internally lol